Employing nationals from the European economic area

European Economic Area (EEA) nationals from the following countries can work in the United Kingdom without restriction:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Lativa
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden.

Since 1st June 2002, nationals from Switzerland and their family members also have the same free movement and employment rights as EEA Nationals.

For prospective employees who are Nationals from the European Economic Area (EEA) and Switzerland, you must see and retain a copy of evidence of an original official document showing their nationality. This should either be:-

  • National Passport
  • National Identity Card

Some EEA nationals may also have been issued with a registration certificate.  This is a document issued by the Home Office which confirms that they are living and working here i.e. exercising their Treaty rights.

Some EEA nationals may also be able to produce a document certifying that they have a right of permanent residence in the United Kingdom.

All these documents are included in List A.