Licensing Committee – Meeting held on Monday, 1st June, 2009.

Present:- Councillors Davis (Chair), Bains, Chohan, Jenkins, Long, MacIsaac, Dodds, Dale-Gough, Pabbi, Rasib and Shine.

PART I

1. Declarations of Interest

None.

2. Minutes of the Last Meeting held on 31st March 2009

The minutes of the meeting held on 31st March, 2009 were approved as a correct record.

3. Appointment of Licensing Sub-Committee and Designated Chairs

The Committee was recommended to establish the Licensing Sub-Committee and to appoint Designated Chairs to it. The Chairs would be from among the Members of this Committee appointed on a politically proportionate basis who would chair the Sub-Committee meetings on a rota basis. Consequently for the municipal year 2009/10 the membership would consist of two Labour Members and one BILLD Member.

Resolved:

- (a) That the Licensing Sub-Committee be appointed with the terms of reference as submitted.
- (b) That Councillors Bains, Rasib and Shine be appointed designated Chairs of the Licensing Sub-Committee for the municipal year 2009/10.

4. Review of the No Casino Policy

Members were reminded that a public consultation had taken place with regard to whether or not the no casino policy adopted by Slough Borough Council in July 2006 be renewed. Consultation included writing to 200 residents on the Citizens' Panel, writing to local organisations and an internet survey. The Licensing Officer reported that of the responses received, there was overwhelming support for the no casino policy being renewed. It was noted that a number of responses had indicated that granting a casino could potentially harm or exploit vulnerable people and their families.

Members unanimously agreed that the no casino policy be renewed and that the policy be recommended to Council for adoption.

Licensing Committee - 01.06.09

Recommended: That no premises licences for casinos be issued with effect from 25th July, 2009 in order to protect vulnerable people and their families from being harmed or exploited.

5. Date of Next Meeting

Thursday, 23rd July, 2009

Chair

(Note: The Meeting opened at 6.30 p.m. and closed at 6.45 p.m.)