Cookie Consent by

Slough Youth Award winners

An evening of music and performance helped to celebrate the winners of Slough Youth Awards.

The sixth annual celebration was held on 9 December at The Grove Academy. 

Harjaap Singh, Slough Youth Parliament Chair, and Aneesa Younes, hosted the evening. 

After receiving 31 nominations for this year’s awards, which are held to recognise the achievements of young people, the judges chose the following winners. 

  • Young Artist 2021 Winner – Aditi Banerjee
  • Young Inspiration 2021 Winner – Amrit Singh Mann
  • Young Entrepreneur 2021 Winner – Tiera Rowe
  • Young Sportsperson 2021 Winner - Manjot Singh
  • Young Voluntary Group of the Year 2021 Winner – Aik Saath Vaccination Volunteers

Councillor Christine Hulme, lead member for children’s services, lifelong learning, and skills, opened the event by acknowledging what a tough 18 months it had been for our young people, particularly the effects of lockdown on their mental health and wellbeing, and how important it was for us all to continue to look out for each other, to ensure that we are all safe.

Cllr Hulme said: “The award nominations showed what great community champions our young people are, as well as being exceptionally talented in a number of fields. Congratulations to the winners.”

Performances on the night included Aditi Banerjee, DJ Ayden, singer Autumn, a video of ‘Poem to a parent or carer’ written by Abi Srinatharan and turned into a film by Katie Bonham, as well as Stevoss & Uncle Gidz (Love Music Hate Violence Project). 

Nadine Barrett, Youth Work Team Leader of the youth voice team, said: “I am extremely proud of the hard work of our small team of three people, the input of our amazing youth volunteers and the support of the community development team to pull this off. 

“In such difficult financial times and amidst a pandemic, we showed how resilient we all can be together when prioritising what’s really important – the next generation. I’m so pleased we could do this face to face and thankful to the generosity of Grove Academy for hosting this exciting event.”

The judges were Ketan Gandhi - Slough Borough Council, Asma Aziz – SCVS, Cllr Sabia Akram – council deputy leader, Miriam Hussaini – Youth Rep from Slough Youth Parliament and Tanveer Sandhu - Member of UK Youth Parliament for Slough.

A video of the ceremony can be watched online

For more information on Slough’s Youth Voice initiatives, email 

Published: 15 December 2021