Council welcomes new government commissioners

Slough Borough Council has welcomed the announcement of two new government commissioners to oversee the recovery of the council following the financial collapse nearly two years ago.

Gavin Jones becomes lead commissioner and is joined by Denise Murray and Gerard Curran, strengthening the commissioner team at Slough.

Leader of the Council, Dexter Smith, said: “As we embark on a new chapter in the council’s recovery, with a new administration now confirmed in place, it seems appropriate this is the time for new commissioners to join us.

“I am looking forward to working with all the commissioners to drive the recovery of the council, moving on from the past mistakes and looking to a brighter future for the council and for residents.”

Denise Murray is the current Section 151 Officer at Bristol City Council and has been in post since December 2016. She was the former Head of Finance at Rochford District Council and Essex County Council and London Borough of Barnet. She held various roles in Essex County Council over the period of 2011 – 2016 and holds historical experience as the Head of Finance for Children’s Services.

Gerard Curran is currently a Non-Executive Director at the Enforcement Conduct Board and NHS Cambridge and Peterborough Integrated Care Board. He was previously Chief Executive of the London Borough of Merton from 2004-2021. He held previous roles at board level in Newham, Waltham Forest, and Lambeth Councils, and previously practised as a Solicitor.  

Gavin Jones said: “I welcome the appointment of additional Commissioners and we look forward to helping the council to continue its focus on recovery at pace.”

Published: 22 May 2023