Cookie Consent by

Register to vote

Registering to vote

Service alert banner

Urgent advice on registering to vote

Due to the current situation with Coronavirus there may be a delay with anyone who wishes to register to vote. Any person(s) who wish to register should go on line at Your registration will be dealt with as soon as practicable. If you complete a form and post it to the Electoral Services Office or deliver it to our council offices you may encounter a significant delay on processing the form. If you have any questions in relation to registration our web page provides all the information you require. If you feel you need further information please e-mail:

Service alert end banner

The electoral register is a list of the names and addresses of everyone who is entitled to vote within the borough of Slough. Register online here.

Why should I register?

  • The information is required by law.
  • If you are not registered, you cannot vote in elections.
  • You may find it difficult to get credit, loans, a mortgage or bank account as the register is used by credit reference agencies.

Can anyone register to vote?

  • You must be resident in the electoral area.
  • You must be a British, Irish, Commonwealth citizen or citizen of a European Union country.
  • You must be 18 or over, or must attain the age of 18 during the life of the registering period.
  • You must not be subject to any legal incapacity to vote

The Electoral Commission website has more details on who can vote.

Proof of registration 

Electoral Services can issue a Certificate of Residence, for the current register year where someone is registered. Anyone who requires a certificate should contact Electoral Services in advance. For more information or for help filling in your registration form contact the elections office on 01753 475111 or email Help for those whose first language is not English is also available at this number.

Monthly alteration deadline dates

We update the Electoral Register monthly between December and September each year. The  Electoral Commission has a list of the latest deadlines.