Female Genital Mutilation (FGM)

Types of Female Genital Mutilation (FGM)

Slough Borough Council works very closely with the Slough Integration Service, East Berkshire CCG, The Garden Clinic, Slough Children’s Trust, local GPs and Frimley Health Care Foundation Trust to raise awareness within the local community that FGM is illegal and constitutes child abuse.

What is female genital mutilation?

‘Any procedures involving partial or total removal of the external female genitalia or other injury to the female genital organs for non-medical reasons’. Ref: World Health Organisation (WHO)

What are the main types of female genital mutilation?

Type 1 – Clitoridectomy

Partial or total removal of the clitoris

Type 2 – Excision

Partial or total removal of the clitoris and the inner labia, with or without excision of the outer labia (the labia are the ‘lips’ that surround the vagina).

Type 3 – Infibulation

Narrowing of the vaginal opening by creating a covering seal. The seal is formed by cutting and repositioning the inner or outer labia, with or without removal of the clitoris.

Type 4 – Other

All other harmful procedures to the female genitalia for non-medical purposes, eg, pricking, piercing, incising, scraping and cauterising (burning) the genital area.